33 N. Dearborn Street, Suite 1130, Chicago, IL 60602

5 Convenient Locations

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube


call us312-999-0999fax312-999-8999

Myasthenia Gravis and Social Security Disability Benefits

Cook County Social Security Disability Benefits Attorney

Can I Get Social Security Disability Benefits If I Suffer From Myasthenia Gravis?

Myasthenia Gravis is recognized by the Social Security Administration! It is a serious neuromuscular disorder that causes weakening of the skeletal muscles throughout the body. For this reason, if myasthenia gravis is preventing you from working for at least 12 months, you may qualify for Social Security disability benefits (whether SSDI or SSI). When you apply for disability benefits with myasthenia gravis, the Social Security Administration will first determine whether your condition is severe enough to meet a listing. If you meet a listing, you will be found medically disabled. If you do not meet a listing, the Social Security Administration will then evaluate your residual functional capacity (the most work that you can do despite your medical condition(s)) and determine whether you are entitled to disability benefits.

Is There A Specific Listing For Myasthenia Gravis?

The Social Security Administration recognizes myasthenia gravis under Listing of Impairments 11.12: Myasthenia gravis, which can be found on the SSA website. However, because most of the listing is structured using medical terminology, it can be quite difficult to know whether you will meet the listing. If you or a family member suffers from myasthenia gravis and are unable to work and want to know more about whether you might qualify for Social Security disability benefits (either SSDI or SSI), contact Pearson Disability Law, LLC today at 312-999-0999.

If I Do Not Meet The Listing, Is There Another Way To Get Social Security Disability Benefits?

Yes! If you do not meet Listing 11.12 and myasthenia gravis is preventing you from working, you may still qualify for Social Security disability benefits.

The Social Security Administration will proceed with your case by evaluating your Residual Functional Capacity. To do this, the Administration will determine the most amount of work that you can do despite your limitations. They do this by dividing “work” into four different categories: heavy, medium, light, and sedentary. It is worth noting that there is sometimes a fifth category that is recognized for very heavy work; however, very heavy work is scarcely used. Whether a claimant wins his or her disability claim is greatly affected by which category he or she is ultimately put into. Being put into a lower category increases the likelihood that a claim is approved for Social Security disability benefits.

Even if a claimant fails to meet the listing for myasthenia gravis, he or she can still have a good chance of winning benefits under residual functional capacity. This is because myasthenia gravis typically requires significant amounts of sleep that could prevent someone from being able to work an 8-hour work day. Additionally, the combination of all of the effects of the condition could prevent a claimant from being able to hold down full-time employment.

You are not alone. Call now for a FREE consultation 312-999-0999

Unable to travel to my office? No problem! No office visit required.

dupage county bar association Chicago abr association nosscr Super Lawyer
Back to Top