33 N. Dearborn Street, Suite 1130, Chicago, IL 60602

5 Convenient Locations

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube


call us312-999-0999fax312-999-8999

Chicago Attorney for Social Security Disability Eligibility

Lawyer for Social Security Disability Benefits in Lake and Cook Counties

The Social Security Administration (SSA) has a listing of medical impairments that are considered severe enough to qualify for Social Security Disability benefits. This listing, often referred to as the Blue Book, contains 14 major body systems that may inhibit a claimant from engaging in substantial gainful activity (SGA). If you have a medical condition that falls into one of these 14 categories, you may be eligible for benefits.

To prove your condition is among the 14 major body systems of Social Security Disability, your medical records and history must accurately reflect your impairment. At Pearson Disability Law, LLC, we work closely with clients and medical professionals to prepare the most complete and accurate records to support your application.

Managing attorney Jonathan L. Pearson has helped thousands of individuals in Chicago and throughout Illinois become approved for the benefits they need. Mr. Pearson has dedicated his entire legal career to disability law and is passionate about helping those who have difficulty dealing with the government themselves. He handles each case personally and on a contingency basis, so you never pay any upfront attorney fees to receive the skilled representation you deserve.

14 Major Body Systems for Social Security Disability

Below is a listing and summary of each of the 14 major body systems listed in the SSA Blue Book.

  1. Musculoskeletal System - The musculoskeletal system includes your joints, tissues, ligaments and spine. This system encompasses so much of your body that a major impairment can inhibit your ability to perform work. Back pain is a common issue stemming from musculoskeletal system disorders, and it may qualify for disability depending on how much you have been affected.
  2. Special Senses and Speech - Vision, hearing, speech, balance and other sensory disorders which render you unable to perform work may qualify for benefits under this category.
  3. Respiratory System - Breathing problems such as bronchitis, asthma, and emphysema may fall into this category. The severity of the impairment is typically evaluated by an independent reviewer to determine if it is serious enough to prevent you from performing gainful activity.
  4. Cardiovascular System - These are disorders affecting the proper functioning of the heart or circulatory system. Examples may include coronary artery disease and congestive heart failure.
  5. Digestive System - Severe digestive tract disorders can render a claimant unable to work. Examples may include gastrointestinal hemorrhage, hepatic (liver) dysfunction, inflammatory bowel disease, short bowel syndrome, and malnutrition.
  6. Genitourinary Disorders - Kidney disease, urinary or reproductive tract dysfunction, kidney dialysis and other renal conditions that render you unable to work may fall into this category.
  7. Hematological Disorders - This is category covers both malignant (cancerous) and non-malignant hematological disorders such as anemia, bone marrow failure, leukemia and lymphoma. A laboratory test confirming the condition of the applicant is usually needed to claim benefits due to a hematological disorder.
  8. Skin Disorders - Skin disorders that may be debilitating include Ichthyosis, bullous diseases, chronic infections of the skin or mucous membranes, dermatitis, hidradenitis suppurativa, genetic photosensitivity disorders, and burns.
  9. Endocrine Disorders - An endocrine disorder is a hormonal imbalance that causes an endocrine to function abnormally, producing too little (hypofunction) or too much (hyperfunction) of a particular hormone. Depending on the severity of the disorder, it can lead to serious complications in the body and render the claimant unable to work.
  10. Impairments Affecting Multiple Body Systems - Mosaic Down Syndrome and other congenital disorders that affect multiple body systems may fall into this category. Examples include chromosomal disorders, inborn metabolic syndromes, dysmorphic syndromes, congenital anomalies and perinatal infectious diseases that severely impair normal bodily functions and/or inhibit development.
  11. Neurological Disorders - Disorders to the central nervous system such as severe cases of cerebral palsy, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, ALS and traumatic brain injuries may fall into this category.
  12. Mental Disorders - The SSA has a wide range of mental disorders and criteria to qualify for benefits. These may include severe cases of depression, anxiety, autism, schizophrenia and retardation.
  13. Malignant Neoplastic Diseases - Most tumors or malignant growths (also known as cancer) fall under this category.
  14. Immune System Disorders - These are deficiencies and/or dysfunctions to the immune system. Autoimmune disorders, immune deficiency disorders and HIV infections may fall into this category.

A condition that falls into one of the 14 major body systems of Social Security Disability can automatically qualify for benefits when they prevent a claimant from participating in substantial gainful activity. If you or a loved one is unable to work due to one (or more) of the above listed conditions, contact Pearson Disability Law, LLC today at 312-999-0999 for a free case evaluation.

You are not alone. Call now for a FREE consultation 312-999-0999

Unable to travel to my office? No problem! No office visit required.

dupage county bar association Chicago abr association nosscr Super Lawyer
Back to Top